Dennis J. Frailey

    6620 Chase Oaks Blvd, MS 8528 
    PO Box 660246
    Dallas, TX 75266-0246  USA 
  Phone: (972)344-8366
  Fax:   (972)344-7701
  Email:  or

Biographical Information

Dennis is a Principal Fellow at Raytheon Company in Dallas, Texas and an Adjunct Professor of Computer Science at SMU. At Raytheon, Dennis is a leader in software engineering improvement, currently focusing on software metrics and cycle time reduction. Prior assignments include computer architect, real-time operating system designer, compiler designer, and speechwriter for company executives. Dennis began his career as a software developer for the Ford Scientific Research Laboratory. After earning his PhD in Computer Science at Purdue in 1971, Dennis joined the faculty at SMU as an assistant professor of Computer Science. He was promoted to associate professor with tenure in 1975. He has continued teaching on an adjunct basis since rejoining industry in 1977.

Dennis has taught most of the computer science curriculum and was one of the first faculty to teach in the SMU software engineering program. He also teaches courses for the University of Texas Software Quality Institute and the UCLA extension program. Dennis is an ACM Fellow and an ACM Distinguished Lecturer; computer science, software engineering and computer engineering accreditation evaluator; member of several university industry advisory boards; member of the IEEE Computer Society Professional Practices Committee; and a member of the Industrial Advisory Committee for the Texas Board of Professional Engineers. Previous positions held include member of the CSAB Board of Directors, editorial board member for the journal Software Process Improvement and Practice, President of the Dallas Association for Software Engineering Excellence, vice president of ACM, and program chairman for over a dozen major computer conferences.  He is active in the both ACM and IEEE, and in efforts to establish software engineering as a profession. Dennis holds an MS and PhD in computer science (Purdue) and a BS in mathematics (Notre Dame).